Spring Things

Spring is in full effect here in Oregon.  That means we have warm days – even hot days!  (By our new Oregonian standards, anyway.)  And we have rainy days.  Sometimes a hot day teams up with a rainy day, for a day that’s fully both, just to keep us on our toes.  Basically, when we open the front door, we never know what we’re going to find.  It’s very exciting.

Spring is a fun time to be living in a house with Shaelyn and Davia.  Eila too, of course, but Shaelyn and Davia’s fun factor really peaks when the weather allows them out of doors.  Unless it’s pouring outside, you can bet these girls will be out there.  Part of their time outside is spent negotiating the very complex and persistent social dramas that unfold between the various neighborhood children.  That’s kind of fun to watch.

But even more fun is watching Shaelyn and Davia being the little scientists that they are.  They are so incredibly in tune with nature, they’re aware of every slight change in the ecosystem that is our yard.  Which flowers are budding, which are blooming, where a certain bug has been snacking on a certain plant, which plants are attracting which creatures, what the birds are eating, where the ants are heading… all of it!  They know everything that goes on out there.  Not just with the neighborhood kids, but with anything that’s alive.  It’s really cool to watch how amazingly observant they are.

The big girls also like to take Eila out there.  It’s funny – when they were Eila’s age, I never in a million years would have let them go outside supervised only by a couple of distracted 9-year-olds.  But my discomfort with that situation is often overpowered by my desperate need to vacuum or get another load of dishes in.  So out they all go.  One day I peeked out to check on them and saw this…

Eila and Davia

Eila in her wagon, Davia hard at play

And during that same peek, I saw this…

Shaelyn gardens

Shaelyn weeding

 

Another day this spring, I went out on the front porch and saw this…

I Love You Street

As you can see, this is the single most adorable and sweet thing anyone has ever seen.  I was so floored by my heart melting that I totally forgot that I had told Shaelyn at least three times to stop playing with the hose.  But what could I say when I saw this and heard that Shaelyn had done it for Davia, whose feelings she was afraid she had hurt?  What could I do besides squeal and run for my camera.  Little punks though they may be at times, I think our kids are the sweetest things ever.

We don’t spend all Spring outside.  Here’s proof…

Three Girls

 

 

 

Shaelyn and Davia

 

 

And here are a few to prove that I’ve been practicing my ukulele…

ukulele session

 

 

Kate with uke

 

 

Happy Spring, one and all!

 

xoxox,

Kate, Kane, Shaelyn, Davia and Eila

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorian
    May 15, 2013 @ 22:02:18

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Especially love the hose-writing in the street. 😀

    Reply

  2. Jan
    May 15, 2013 @ 22:14:52

    That was such a lovely blog Kate. Magical xxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

