Happy 9th Birthday, Shaelyn and Davia!

Today is Shaelyn and Davia’s 9th Birthday!!

Most of my older photos of them are not dated, so the pictures below are probably not in perfect chronological order.  Besides the photos, I’ve included excerpts from a journal I kept for the first several years of their lives.

Here you can watch them grow before your very eyes, as I have.  Hope you enjoy it.

“I love twins.  (Mine especially of course)  I’ve been telling people that I want to someday adopt 5 more sets of twins.  I do.  I bet not every set is as wonderful as Shaelyn and Davia though.”

– Kate, January 19, 2004

“What beautiful girls I have!  I swear they get cuter every day.  They’re just gorgeous.  I was looking at them yesterday and thinking about how when you look at them you can tell they’re just always going to be beautiful.  They couldn’t not be.  They’re just perfect.”

– Kate, February 3, 2004

“These girls are totally obsessed with frogs.  They love frogs.  They ask for frogs and babble about frogs any chance they get.  They’ll find a frog in any book that has one, even if it’s only a teeny tiny one down in the corner on some page that doesn’t even mention frogs in the words.  When we sing “Old Mac Donald” and get to the “had a…” part, they always say “froggy!”  I put up some pictures of frogs for them that they love, and I put pictures of frogs in their photo album.  Anything that they see that even remotely resembles a frog (for example, a crocodile or the avocado on Lori’s burrito), they’ll ask “Froggy? Froggy?”  My cute little weirdos.”

– Kate, February 26, 2005

*Cut to 5 years later…

******************

“Hooray!  They finally know that one of them is named Shaelyn!  They’re sitting in their high chairs facing eachother, and I just asked Davia who “this” is, pointing to Shaelyn.  “Sha-sha” she said.  YES!!!  And then Shaelyn patted both of her hands on her chest and said “Sha Sha!”  YES!!!  For the past month or two, they’ve just both been “Da da”.”

– Kate, January 7th, 2005

“Also over there today, they were playing in the planter where, a couple months ago, I told them to be careful of the baby lettuces.  Shaelyn said to Davia “That’s baby salad, Day Day!”

When something happens that upsets Davia, she cries for a little bit, then she says “It’s okay, Davia.”

Another favorite thing of theirs to do is running away.  And they say “Run away! Run away!” as they go.  It’s sort of a pain, because they do it outside.  As soon as we get out there, they’re half way down the block, giggling, “Run away!”

Today we were at Longs to get wipes, and I was pushing the girls in the stroller.  Shaelyn leaned over toward Davia and said “I love my sweet baby girl.”

– Kate, August 22, 2005

“This morning while me and S and D were all snuggled in bed together, just waking up, Shaelyn pinched Davia.  (I forget why.)  Davia said, ‘Are you an earwig, Shaelyn?  You don’t pinch people!'”

– Kate, November 22, 2006

“Lately Shaelyn has been calling people ‘old girl’.  As in, ‘Don’t say that, silly old girl!'”

– Kate, November 25, 2006

“We rode up in Bubba’s car – me, shaelyn, Davia, Renny and Bubba.  On the way back, we stopped at In n Out for fries and milk shakes, and we played games.  The best game we played was “I’m thinking of a thing” where you give clues about what (or who) you’re thinking about.  Renny did the first few (her first two things being Shaelyn and Davia), and I did a couple.  Then we asked the girls if they wanted to try.  Shaelyn went first, saying “I’m thinking of a thing… with sharp teeth… that bites you… (some other clues that I forget)… that says wuff wuff” A dog?  “No… that says meow… with sharp teeth” (more clues that I forget) A cat?  “No… that starts with a… it has sharp teeth… a zebra!!”  Then Davia went:  “I’m thinking of a thing… that’s round… and squishy…” A ball?  A bagel?  “No… that’s yellow… that’s on my nose” A sock? (She was holding a sock next to her nose)  “No…” What is it?  “A booger!'”

– Kate, November 25, 2006

“This morning, we were talking about making pancakes, and Shaelyn said, ‘To make pancakes, we need to get the pancake batteries!'”

-Kate, March 10, 2007

“At night, when I’m putting the girls to bed, before affirmations and after stories, we all say a couple things we’re thankful for.  Davia for some reason always says something like “I’m thankful for the Julia that I eat!”  Or “I’m thankful for eating Shaelyn and Bubba!”  Last night, when I asked Shaelyn what she was thankful for, she said “I’m thankful for you, mama!”  Melt my heart!  Then when she saw how happy that made me, she said about 10 more times.”

-Kate, March 10, 2007

“I love these girls so much.  I’ve been worrying lately about money and stuff, because I’m still not working.  But this morning, before the girls’ nap and after a banana breakfast, they were laying on the living room floor, and I was practicing our signs by signing to them (which they absolutely love)…  And I was looking at them, and I realized how much better they make me feel about everything.  No problem I could have now matters half as much as having these girls matters.  They’re more important to me than everything else in my life combined.  If I lost everything in the world except them, I would still be so much more happy than I ever thought I could be.  As long as (we) are together, any problems I might have now seem totally insignificant.  I can’t even believe how lucky I am to have these girls.”

-Kate, April 3, 2004

Nine years later, I still feel the same way.  (Of course, as our family has grown, that feeling has grown to encompass my wonderful husband and newest baby.)  When I first met Shaelyn and Davia and held them in my arms, they were more beautiful and amazing and perfect than I ever could have hoped for.  And every day, as I watch them grow into the amazing people they are becoming, I am blown away by their spirit, their insights and curiosity, their courage and strength, their beauty and grace, their spunk and their wit, and their huge, glowing hearts.  I couldn’t have dreamed they’d turn out like this.  I can’t wait to see what they have in store for us, and for the world, next.  And I am so very grateful to have them in my life.

Happy Birthday, big girls!  We love you!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kanekong
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 10:01:27

    Beautiful. How lucky am I?

    You should read this to them, if you haven’t already 🙂

    Reply

    • kateinbrightplaces
      Oct 17, 2012 @ 10:31:32

      I should read to them. BTW, I just edited to add a line about you and Eila. All four of you mean the world to me!! I know you knew that, but I just wanted it to be on record. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Jan
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 22:14:10

    I have been thinking of Shaelyn and Davia all day. I hope they heard the happy birthday song from Ash and I. ( on your cell Kate ) . Loved reading all the little memories, they are both so wonderful.
    Much love Jan xxxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

