Another Busy Morning, In a Busy Month

Mornings – especially school mornings – are every mother’s favorite time of day.  Ha ha!  See what I did there?  That was a joke.  In that it couldn’t be farther from the truth.  School mornings were sent by the devil to punish mothers for having children, populating the world with little angels.  Devils hate angels.  Is that right?  Something like that.

Anyway, my point is that a school morning is a very painful thing for a mom.  Or at least for many moms.  Lunches have to be made.  Shoes have to be located.  Papers have to be signed.  Jackets, toothbrushes, backpacks, “she took my blah blah blah!”, “I can’t find my blah blah blah!”, “Where did you hide my blah blah blah?!”, etc.  You get the picture.  And mom’s trying to deal with all this while still only half awake.  And have I mentioned that my kids’ school starts at 7:45am?

This morning actually went relatively smoothly, especially considering that I was up part of the night last night with a sick baby.  (Don’t worry, she’s made a full recovery.)  But it was still a morning.  I caught a little of it on video to show you here.  But keep in mind, this was one of the more mild segments of the morning.  And this morning was one of the more mild mornings.  There’s often screaming and tears.  This isn’t that bad…

(If anyone’s wondering, when I said “Quick, before Memory leaves,” I wasn’t threatening them with amnesia or anything.   I was referring to our wonderful neighbor who drives them to school in the mornings, who happens to be named Memory.)
In other news, October is a very busy month for us!  All three girls have birthdays, and our favorite holiday wraps it all up.  Kane’s coming home for a visit, and Grandpa Jim (Kate’s dad) is coming to visit as well.  The following display is on our entryway closet and is maintained mostly by S and D, with a little input from adults:

Busy Month

 

Wait, what?!  Does that say “TWO DAYS LEFT” at the bottom?  Uh oh, I’ve got stuff to do.  (That’s the big girls’ countdown to their birthday.)  Eek!

 

Love to all, and Happy October!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kane
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 10:13:50

    Bye! bye!

    That is so huge of Memory

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Oct 15, 2012 @ 14:58:26

    That was calm! I’m always shouting by the time we get through the door. Sol has to be at school for 9! The first week he tried hiding his shoes in next doors back yard to get out of going. He fessed up as I was trying to hammer on his size to small shoes, guess he didn’t want a day of pain. Very busy October. Wishing you luck and love. X!

    Reply

  3. Susannah Krug
    Oct 17, 2012 @ 21:32:54

    Arghhh, I totally understand. We have to be ready and in the car ready to go by 7 am to get the kids to all of their schools and Nana’s house for childcare so I can go to work for 3 hours and then do it all over again. Exhausting…..

    Reply

  4. Jan
    Oct 19, 2012 @ 11:46:20

    Eila loves her big sisters. 🐓

    Reply

Leave a Reply

