Just Us, Kate and Eila

It’s a quiet house here with just me and little Eila.  If you’ve read our “About Our Mountain – 10 Months Later” page, or if you’ve otherwise heard the news, you know that Kane left yesterday for Vancouver BC.  He’ll be gone 5 months.

Shaelyn and Davia are still down in California visiting family and friends.  From what I hear, they’re having the time of their lives.  Doing more fun stuff in a week or two than they’ve done in the past 10 months up here, I think.  I miss those girls a lot, but I’m glad they’re having so much fun.

So what do a Mama and an Eila do when left home alone for 9 days?  Well, it may be too soon to tell, as Kane just left yesterday.  But so far, we’re not doing too much.  We did both have a rather fitful night of sleep last night.  Woke up early.  Got to Skype with Kane before he went to work.  I think Eila seemed a little confused by that, but also happy to see her Papa.

The very first thing I did upon arriving home from the airport, after dropping Kane off, was the only thing that made any sense to do in such a situation.  I changed a switch plate on the wall leading up our stairs.  Grandpa Jim brought the girls one from Alaska, and Kane didn’t have time to put it up before he left.  But it ended up being the perfect way for me to prove to myself, if only symbolically, that I will survive without my man of the house, and that I can take care of things myself.

Though I’m missing my girls, I’m comforted by things that remind me of them.  Like their garden out front, which is actually doing quite well.  Let’s see if I can keep it in a viable state until they get home…

 

 

 

And I keep looking sadly at our “Time to Take Tea” sign, which normally is displayed during our daily “Tea at Three”, where the big girls and I share tea, cookies, and conversation.  (Usually for about 10-15 minutes, but it’s still a dear ritual to me.)

 

Eila’s handling all this missing of people well, I’d say.

 

I’m interested to see how this next week goes, just me and the baby, missing all kinds of people, north and south of us.  We’ll keep you posted.  So far, I think we’re going to be okay.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kanekong
    Jul 23, 2012 @ 14:50:53

    You’re doing good, babe. Hang tight.

    Reply

  2. Kelly
    Jul 25, 2012 @ 14:16:35

    I’ve got a sign in my mug cupboard that says ‘women are like teabags, you don’t know how strong they are until you put them in hot water’ You’re wading through hot water but you are a very strong women. Thinking of you. KEEP STRONG!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

