Torture by Pureed Peas

At my baby shower back in September, we scored this awesome baby food making set-up.  (Many thanks to my good friend, Anne, and co!)  I’ve been eager to use it but waiting for Eila to get big enough to eat solid food.  The time has come!

She’s been eating store-bought infant rice cereal for a couple weeks, with scattered success.  Sometimes she’ll awkwardly finish a bowl.  Sometimes it all ends up on her bib.  To be honest, it hasn’t been a raging victory.  But, I thought, maybe she just doesn’t like that solid food.  Surely what she was waiting for was pureed peas!

So today, Shaelyn and I got out the Baby Bullet (our baby food maker) and some peas, and whipped up our first batch of homemade baby food.

We love this baby food maker, which came with these cute little cups for food storage.  They even have a little turn dial at the top with numbers 1 through 31, so you can easily mark the date you made that batch!  Isn’t that cool?  There, Shaelyn was setting it “23”.  That’s because until I just looked up at my computer date, I thought that was the date today.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then it’s time to test it on the baby.  I tried it first, of course.  Mmm!  Sweet like peas, but not quite as smooth as store-bought baby food.  No matter how long I blended it, the peels of the peas were still noticeable.  But surely it would taste so good that Eila would overlook that, smiling as she swallowed bite after bite, and begging for more!

What is this?

 

What is Papa doing to me?

 

Okay, these pictures are cute, but to get the full feel of this feeding session, you must watch the following video.

So maybe she didn’t LOVE the peas.  This time, anyway.  We’re going to keep trying.

And in the mean time, I do love my baby food maker.  What will I make next?!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jan
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 06:00:30

    Love al the photos. You all make an adventure out of everything! Xxxx

    Reply

  2. Jenna
    Apr 24, 2012 @ 06:32:56

    I don’t like peas either…. Butternut squash maybe?

    Reply

  3. Pauline
    May 14, 2012 @ 19:43:52

    That Video is too funny!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

