Home again, home again

We were lucky enough to get to take a trip down to California over Christmas this year.  The trip was very busy but fun.  We saw many people we’ve been missing a lot, and missed seeing some we wish we could have.  Those trips are always so much shorter than they seem like they’re going to be.  Especially over the holidays.  Anyway, I’m not going to post all the pictures from California right now, because I think most of the people who read this blog were there.  I’ll post some if I have time later though.

For now, I thought I’d post a few pictures from our trip home, which was as smooth and easy as could be expected.  We did have to be out the door by 5am on Friday to catch our flight, and we did require two drivers to get our whole family and all that luggage to the airport.  (Thanks, Mary and Jamey!)  But we made it to the airport on time, managed to get on the right plane, enjoyed a sleeping Eila for most of the flight and two well behaved big sisters.  And when we got to our car that had been waiting for us in long-term parking, it started!  (We weren’t sure it would, so that was nice.)

This is how Eila spent most of the flight.

Kate and Shaelyn on the plane

S and D in their seats

We saw an amazing* sunrise through the windows.  I don’t think I got a picture of that, because I was in an aisle seat, but it was pink and shiny and pretty.

Getting a little rowdy. Good thing we land soon!

A good thing to do when traveling with children is, when it’s time to de-plane**, let everyone else get off the plane first.  Then you don’t get rushed, which is good, because rushing with kids never ends well.

Kate and the girls in the Portland airport

They love that thing.

Little Miss Eila, in her fuzzy, at the airport

(I know it seems like Eila’s wearing this exact same*** fuzzy outfit in half the pictures we post of her, and she is.  But we love it!)

Kane, next to our mountain of luggage, topped with a giraffe.

So we arrived back in Oregon safe and sound, and ready to ring in the new year!  But that’s for another post.

*The word “amazing” topped Lake Superior State University’s list of banished words for 2012, which you can read more about here:  http://www.lssu.edu/banished/   I’m boldly using this word anyway today, the rebel that I am, but I will heed their banishment of the word “trickeration”.  Actually, I don’t even know what that means.

**The words, “de-plane”, and…

*** “exact same” made the banishment list the year Kate was born.  So did the word “fruitworthy.”  I don’t know that word either, but I’m going to try and start working it into conversations.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. makingspace1
    Jan 02, 2012 @ 04:26:06

    Lovely! My girls love that people mover thing too, and yes, waiting until everyone else is off the plane is the only way to go. Bravo to you folks for making such a cheerful trip! Happy New Year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

