Playing Favorites

I don’t mean to complain, but what is it about Kane that’s so flipping special?  Wait, I should back up.  So I’m at home with this baby all day, every day, right?  I feed her, change her, bathe her, sing to her, talk to her, make faces at her, wear her in various baby-wearing contraptions until my shoulders are sore…

See her here, worn by me:

Having a nap while Mama cleans

A close up, 'cause it's even cuter.

… So I do all this stuff that should really make me her favorite person, right?  But then Mr. Kane comes home from work, all beardy and manly and tired from a long day, and he says “hi” to the baby, and what does she do?  She bursts into this huge, dimply smile, like he’s the greatest thing since sliced bread*.  She doesn’t do that for me!  I mean, she does, but I have to work for it.  He just opens his mouth, and she’s all smiles.  What’s so great about HIM?  (Okay, obviously I know some great things about him, or I wouldn’t have married him, but still.)

Here, I will show you what I’m talking about.  The following pictures might look like they’re all the same, but look closely.  I invite you to study the expression on her face, and while you do, note that I was the one holding the camera, and Kane was standing next to me.  Observe the difference in the faces she makes at me and the faces she makes at him.  You’ll see what I mean.

Here, Eila looks at her loving Mama:

"Oh. It's you again. Can I help you?"

Here, Eila looks at her Papa:

"Oh! Ah HA ha HA!! Hi, Papa! Hi!"

Here, she looks at Mama:

"I'm sorry, are you still there? Do you need something?"

Here, she looks at Papa:

"Oh, Papa! You're so funny!"

At Mama:

"Seriously, lady, what's your problem?"

At Papa:

"Bwah ha ha ha!! Papa, you're the best!!"

See?  This is what I’m dealing with here.  The child is playing favorites, and she’s doing it with the wrong parent!

But what can you do?

I mean, really, what can I do?  Let’s think of things.  Maybe I’ll be the first to feed her chocolate…

*If you ask me, the greatest thing since sliced bread is Dave’s Killer Bread.  It’s very, very good.  And I’m not just saying that because they fed it to me in the birth center moments after I gave birth, while I was all hopped up on endorphins.  It’s amazingly good bread.   http://www.daveskillerbread.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. makingspace1
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 05:36:05

    OMG. That’s hysterical!!! And that is the cutest baby ever, for real.

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 21:00:27

    that girl has got a cute face!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

